Extracting test data from ArangoDB’s admin interface

Test Driven Development is an important part of my development process and
ArangoDB’s speed, schema-less nature and truncate command make testing really nice.

Testing has ended up being especially important to me when it comes to AQL (Arango Query Language) queries. Just the same way that its easy to write a regular expression that matches more than you expect, constraining the traversal algorithm so you get what you want (and only that) can be tricky.

AQL queries that traverse a graph are often (maybe always?) sensitive to the structure of the graph. The direction of the edges (inbound/outbound) or the number of edges to cross (maxDepth) are often used to constrain a traversal. Both of these are examples of how details of your graphs structure get built into your AQL queries. When the structure isn’t what you think, you can end up with some pretty surprising results coming back from your queries.

All of that underscores the need to test against data that you know has a specific structure. A few times now I have found myself with bunch of existing graph data, and wondering how to pick out a selected subgraph to test my AQL queries against.

ArangoDB’s web interface gets me tantalizingly close, letting me filter down to a single starting node and clicking with the spot tool to reveal its neighbors.

Filtering for a specific vertex in the graph.
Filtering for a specific vertex in the graph.

In a few clicks I can get exactly the vertices and edges that I need to test my queries, and because I have seen it, I know the structure is correct, and has only what I need. All that is missing is a way to save what I see.

Since this seems to keep coming up for me, I’ve solved this for myself with a little hackery that I’ve turned to several times now. The first step is turning on Firefox’s dump function by entering about:config in the URL bar and searching the settings for “dump”.

Firefox can dump to the terminal with browser.dom.window.dump.enabled
Firefox can dump to the terminal with browser.dom.window.dump.enabled

The dump function allows you to write to the terminal from javascript. Once that is set to true, launching Firefox from the terminal, and typing dump("foo") in the Javascript console should print “foo” in the controlling terminal.

test_data

Next, since the graph viewer uses D3 to for its visualization, we can dig into the DOM and print out the bits we need using dump. Pasting the following into the Javascript console will print out the edges:

var edges = document.querySelector('#graphViewerSVG').childNodes[0].childNodes[0].children; for(var i = 0; i < edges.length; i++) { dump("\r\n" + JSON.stringify(edges[i].__data__._data) + "\r\n"); }

And then this will print out the vertices:

var vertices = document.querySelector('#graphViewerSVG').childNodes[0].childNodes[1].children; for(var i = 0; i < vertices.length; i++) { dump("\r\n" + JSON.stringify(vertices[i].__data__._data) + "\r\n"); }

With the vertices and edges now printed to the terminal, a little copy/paste action and you can import the data into your test database before running your tests with arangojs’s import function.

myCollection.import([
  {foo: "bar"},
  {fizz: "buzz"}
])

Alternately you can upload JSON files into the collection via the web interface as well.

Importing JSON into a collection.
Importing JSON into a collection.

While this process has no claim on elegance, its been very useful for testing my AQL queries and saved me a lot of hassle.

Leave a Reply

