Factory not registered

I have been working on adding tests to an existing Rails app for one of my clients. The app was written by some well intentioned person who included tonnes of testing libraries but just never got around to writing tests.

group :development, :test do
  gem 'capybara'
  gem 'cucumber'
  gem 'cucumber-rails', :require => false
  gem 'database_cleaner'
  gem 'factory_girl'
  gem 'factory_girl_rails'
  gem 'rspec-core'
  gem 'rspec-expectations'
  gem 'rspec-mocks'
  gem 'rspec'
  gem 'rspec-rails'
  gem 'ZenTest'
end

As I started adding specs I needed to create factories, and when I started to do that I started to get errors. First “Factory already registered” errors and then “Factory not registered” errors. Very annoying.
The root of the problem seems to be that factory_girl_rails and factory_girl both look for factories when loaded. The solution for me was to remove factory_girl and let factory_girl_rails do the right thing.
This triggered a major purge of unneeded gems which left me with a Gemfile that looks like this:

group :development, :test do
  gem 'factory_girl_rails'
  gem 'rspec-rails'
  gem 'capybara'
end

It also left me with passing tests and no further errors.

I think the take away for me here is to let bundler/rubygems dependency management system do the right thing. Over-specifying stuff is a recipe for trouble. Over-specifying stuff in the Gemfile might look like explicitly including factory_girl when it will obviously be a dependency of factory_girl_rails. I’ve also seen problems arise from habitually including version numbers in the Gemfile, which makes things so specific that Bundler no longer has the latitude to figure out something that works.

In any case its a good reminder that less is more.

Leave a Reply

