cannot load such file — taps/operation

I am an eternal optimist. With very few exceptions I will upgrade to the latest version of just about anything. Beta versions are close to being my norm and deprecation warnings are like nails on a chalkboard to me. A while ago I got deprecation warning while using one of my favorite heroku commands, heroku db:pull

The `heroku` gem has been deprecated and replaced with the Heroku Toolbelt. Download and install from: https://toolbelt.heroku.com

Obviously I installed the toolbelt. Of course everything looks find until I am trying to get some work done and try my next db:pull:


mike@sleepycat:~/projects/capoeiraottawa.ca$ heroku db:pull
! Taps Load Error: cannot load such file -- taps/operation
! You may need to install or update the taps gem to use db commands.
! On most systems this will be:
!
! sudo gem install taps

Taps is already installed but I humour them and install it again. Same deal. Purge and reinstall the Toolbelt. Same deal.
For the moment my solution is to back out of the toolbelt thing and use the gem again. Grr.
To do that I just did sudo apt-get purge heroku-toolbelt heroku. Keep in mind that heroku’s repo is still in the list of places apt will search. If you want to get rid of it you will have to delete /etc/apt/sources.list.d/heroku.list.

The last bit of the cleanup is removing the stuff heroku added to your path in your ~/.bashrc:


### Added by the Heroku Toolbelt
export PATH="/usr/local/heroku/bin:$PATH"

Then reopen your terminal. After that you are ready to install the gem as usual with gem install heroku


mike@sleepycat:~/projects/capoeiraottawa.ca☺ heroku db:pull
Loaded Taps v0.3.24
...
The 'heroku' gem has been deprecated and replaced with the Heroku Toolbelt, download and install from https://toolbelt.heroku.com.

Receiving schema
...

Sigh.

Leave a Reply

