Getting to know rbenv

I’ve been flirting with switching to rbenv for a while now. Updating RVM recently left me with a strange and annoying error (rubygems_bundler_installer LoadError) that I decided was best fixed by finally moving to rbenv.
The setup was pretty painless but after installing ruby 1.9.3 I thought I would install bundler and get to some coding. So I ran “gem install bundler” which went fine and then “bundle install”. What I got was:

mike@sleepycat:~/projects/capoeiraottawa.ca☺ bundle install
The program 'bundle' is currently not installed. You can install it by typing:
sudo apt-get install ruby-bundler

After a little reading rehashing was suggested and solved the problem:

mike@sleepycat:~/projects/capoeiraottawa.ca☺ rbenv rehash
mike@sleepycat:~/projects/capoeiraottawa.ca☺ bundle install
Fetching gem metadata from http://rubygems.org/......

Since I had no idea what rehash meant, or why I would need to use it. Since rehash seems to be a big thing with rbenv this gave me a good reason to get to know rbenv a little better. It actually works by prepending ~/.rbenv/shims and ~/.rbenv/bin to your path so its binaries are found first. Those binaries are shims based on the rubies and gems in the ~/.rbenv/versions directory. Rehash calls the following instructively named function to do create them:


make_shims ../versions/*/bin/*

The result is a shims directory full of shims. I’ve heard the term used many times but I have to admit I had a pretty shaky understanding of what a shim actually was. Taking a look in the directory helped…


mike@sleepycat:~/.rbenv☺ ls shims/
ast bundle erb gem irb jgem jirb jirb_swing jruby jrubyc rake rdoc ri ruby testrb update_rubygems

Even better is seeing the code:


mike@sleepycat:~/.rbenv☺ cat shims/bundle
#!/usr/bin/env bash
set -e
export RBENV_ROOT="/home/mike/.rbenv"
exec rbenv exec "${0##*/}" "$@"

So all that’s happening is setting an environmental variable and then execute some other command. OK, suddenly its clear what a shim is. As it happens rbenv exec is basically the same thing, setting some variables and then executing the actual command.

So when I install new gems, and those gems have a bin directory I need to call “rbenv rehash” to have rbenv generate new shims for the binaries they contain. Curiosity satisfied.

Leave a Reply

