Installing Crayon Physics Deluxe on Ubuntu Natty

I was excited to see Crayon Physics Deluxe included in the latest edition of the Humble Bundle. When I downloaded it I was a little thrown off when I realized that I was not getting a .deb file (which would handle dependencies) but just a compressed tar archive. The install was not exactly intuitive so I thought I would make a note of it here for others.
I extracted the CrayonPhysicsDeluxe folder that is in the tar archive into my home directory.
Then I opened a terminal window (alt + ctrl + t) and since one of the files in the folder was called launcher I decided that was a good place to start. I tried to run it and got the following error:

mike@sleepycat:~/CrayonPhysicsDeluxe$./launcher
./launcher: error while loading shared libraries: libmikmod.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

It turns out that libmikmod and another library need to be installed to get this game up and running…

sudo apt-get install libmikmod2 libsmpeg0

You will also need to make the file “crayon” in the CrayonPhysicsDeluxe folder executable as well:

mike@sleepycat:~/CrayonPhysicsDeluxe$ chmod +x crayon

I can’t remember if I had to chmod the launcher file as well, but if you run “ls” on ~/CrayonPhysicsDeluxe launcher and crayon should both be green.

Happy drawing!

2 thoughts on “Installing Crayon Physics Deluxe on Ubuntu Natty”

  1. good stuff thank you lol! hey you wouldnt have happened to get any luck with the other games (non .deb’s) would you? I’m trying to find out how to get steelstorm going, but google is failing me with useless posts….

Leave a Reply

