Haunted by Flash 7

For some reason my version of Firefox seems to be haunted by the ghost of Flash 7. I have installed Flash 9 several times now but today when I tried to watch a video on http://www.expertvillage.com I saw nothing but a black square. Thinking it was loading I gave it a few seconds and when nothing had changed a right click confirmed my worst fears as the text “about flash player 7” appeared at the bottom of the menu.

What does it want with me? Is it trying to tell me something?

A little googleing revealed that /home/username/.mozilla/plugins is not the only place that Firefox looks for plugins. It also keeps them in /usr/lib/firefox/plugins/

After terminating the flashplayer.xpt and libflashplayer.so files that were resident in that folder and copying in new ones freshly extracted from the tar.gz file on adobe’s site I can finally watch videos again. I think I finally exorcised the beast.

Flash 7 begone! The power of root compels you!

One thought on “Haunted by Flash 7”

Leave a Reply

